II «Eurasia» IFF, Almaty, 2005

In 2005 the idea of revival of “Eurasia” film festival got its second breath. The festival was held under the auspices the government of the Republic of Kazakhstan, National Company “Kazakhfilm” named after Shaken Aimanov, Ministry of Culture, Information and Sport of the Republic of Kazakhstan and Kazakhstan Cinematographers’ Union as an international standard event because its competition included films from Europe, Asia and post-soviet countries. The motto of the festival remained the same “For the United Cinema Space!”

Second “Eurasia” International Film festival was held in Almaty from September 26th till October 2nd, 2005. Throughout the festival week, the audience got to watch over 70 films including two retrospectives by the eastern and western directors – Kim Ki-duk and Emir Kusturica. Besides the competition, out-of-competition and retrospective films, the viewers got a chance to watch rare films shot by Kazakhstani film directors in soviet time and which were banned from screening. The festival program featured one world and two Eurasian premiers. Following guest-stars attended the festival – Katherine Deneuve, Theo Angelopoulos, Michele Placido, Ornella Mutti, Franka Potente and others.

In total, over 130 film makers from Europe, Asia, America, CIS and Baltic states participated in the festival. Three master classes were held. Master Class on acting was held by the French actress Katherine Deneuve. Theo Angelopoulos – the president of International Jury, held a master class on directing. Another two very important round table discussions were held. One of those was dedicated to the issues of national cinema development in the era of globalism. Festival had a significant after sound and was held at a good hour for non-pampered audience. Around 40 00 people attended the screenings.

Award winners at II “Eurasia” IFF:

  • Festival’s Grand Prix – “The Tuner”, Ukraine/Russia, directed by Kira Muratova;
  • Best Director award – «Sun», Russia, directed by Alexander Sokurov;
  • Special Jury Prize – «Tbilisi-Tbilisi», Georgia, director Levan Zakareishvili, “Saratan”, Kyrgyzstan, directed by Ernest Abdyzhapparov;
  • Best Male performance – “Sun”, Russia, directed by Alexander Sokurov, actor – Issei Ogata;
  • Best Female Performance – “The Tuner”  “The Tuner”, Ukraine/Russia, directed by Kira Muratova, Nina Ruslanova and Alla Demidova.