I «Eurasia» IFF, Almaty, 1998

For the first time ever, “Eurasia” film festival took place in 1998 under the auspices of Cinematographers’ Union Confederation as a form of CIS and Baltic States Film Forum. Originally, the festival was planned to be migrant and transfer from one CIS state to another annually. Three competition programs were presented at the festival – full length feature film competition, documentary and animation competition. Only the CIS and Baltic states’ films participated in competition. Film festival’s motto was – “For the United Cinema Space!”

The following world-renowned film-makers were among the guests of the first «Eurasia» IFF: Michael York, Pierre Richard, Sally Potter, Barbara Brylska, Nikita Mikhalkov, Rustam Ibragimbekov, Reggio Godfrey and many others. Prominent film experts, producers, heads of international film-organizations took part in festival programs: honorary chairman of FIPRESSI, Marseille Marten, the president of Berlin Film Forum, Ulrich Gregor, vice-president of International Organization for Copyright Protection, Jane Albreht, heads of Unions of Cinematographers across all CIS and Baltic states.

Holding of «Eurasia» IFF in 1998 was significant for unification of post-soviet film-makers for the ties between countries by that time were lost and the film makers had little chance to see each other’s films starting from late 1980s.  It was no wonder that “Eurasia” discovered new film directors who emerged in the independent era – Aktan Abdykalykov from Kyrgyzstan, Larissa Sadilova from Russia, Gytis Luksas from Lithuania and others.
Over 200 journalist received accreditation including 35 from far abroad. The programme of feature films consisted of 172 feature films, documentaries and animations.

Award-winners of I «Eurasia» IFF:

Awards in Feature Films Competition:

  • Best Film Grand Prix – “Beshkempir” by Kyrgyz director Aktan Abdykalykov;
  • Special Jury award – “Happy Birthday”, Russia, Larissa Sadilova;
  • Best Director Award – “Aksuat”, Kazakhstan, director – Serik Aprymov;
  • Best Female Performance award – “Lunar Lithuania” by Gytis Luksas, actress Dalia Micheleviciute.
  • Non-feature Films competition awards:
  • Best Film Grand Prix – Not Awarded
  • Special Jury award – «Bread Day», Russia, director Sergey Dvortsevoi;
  • Special Jury award – «Business Trip», Tajikistan, director Mairam Yusupova;
  • Best Director Award – «A Roadside House», by Sergey Rusakov and Sergey Azimov.
  • Best Film Grand Prix – «Dragon Island», Kazakhstan, directors Gani Kistauov and Zhaken Danenov.